Skip Navigation

Core Competencies

The Kansas Core Competencies, a product of extensive collaboration and input from experts in the field, including early educators, administrators, and partners, is a testament to the future of early childhood care and education. These competencies aim to provide a comprehensive framework that reflects the latest research, best practices, and evolving needs of young learners.

The Core Competencies set quality standards for child care and school age professionals. The competencies guide professional development and training efforts across the state, including Links to Quality.

See the Core Competencieslaunch

9 Content Areas

The Core Competencies are organized into nine content areas to help professionals meet the needs of children and youth.

  • Child Growth and Development
  • Health, Safety and Nutrition
  • Learning Environments
  • Planning, Learning Experiences and Curriculum
  • Relationships and Social-Emotional Guidance
  • Observation, Documentation and Assessment
  • Partnerships with Families and Communities
  • Professionalism and Leadership
  • Administration, Program Planning and Development

4 Levels

The four levels of competency skills range from beginning to advanced. The levels are designed to be cumulative. Depending on a professional’s role, they may have varying levels in different content areas.